Desk with a View

Are you sitting comfortably? Are you reading this on iPhone against the throng of a crowded street or are you lying supine on sofa, feet up and perusing the internet for daydreamy nuggets related to Austen?

Do you write? Where do you write–at a desk, on a coffee-stained formica table in a cafe, or tucked away in a library nook? Being a mobile writer is one strong perk of this trade. I have an office with expansive windows which always cheer me as I observe people striding footpaths below; but I also love the weight of my mobile office adjusted from left to right hand as I heft my MacBook from various public seats. Right now, I am typing this propped up with pillows in bed, coffee at my right, notepad at my left. I’ve already been out of the house this morning, now I return for a twenty-minute reviving rest before the day goes full-throttle.

This drawing of Jane Austen’s desk never fails to elicit my smile. It is, of course, peppered with hints about her personal and writing life, but it also makes me reflect on what objects both physically and metaphorically I would place around me to represent my life and my life in words. So, what does your writing space look like? What inspires you?

I’m off shortly to my office to nab space and solace to tap out a few words. I’m thinking of mimicking this Austenesque drawing for inspiration today so I may prop on my desk a framed photo of Dorothy Parker (nudging wit to come out to play), sharp scissors (office necessity), a candlestick or two (blunt instrument to aid my writing of a crime thriller), lavender (just like Austen’s and it may help induce a well-earned afternoon nap) and a pile of my manuscripts (so I am reminded I actually accomplish something at a keyboard).

Pull up a chair–we are writing today!

Leave a comment

James Clark -- The Next Iteration

Eclectic Writings for a Balanced Life

P e d r o L

storytelling the world

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

Stories From the Belly

A Blog About My Female Body and Its Appetites

A lot from Lydia

La la la, la la la, La la la, la la la

An Upturned Soul

Sometimes I Climb the Walls and Lie on the Ceiling

Wellsbaum.blog

Writing about life and arts

The Skewer

Skewering the misguided for their own good since 1816

AnnabelleTroy.Com

Fiction Made Real

Sizzles & Strings

Hostel-friendly recipes from an aspiring little chef. Fire Burn & Cauldron Bubble.

Free to express

thoughts, experiences, travel, feelings, stories, diaries and many more...

Rainnie Bell

Unlike some toilets, I'm not full of shit!

EXPLORE YOURSELF!

Life is full of experiences. We either get blessings or lessons. Follow your dreams passionately. Stay happy and cheerful. Be an inspiration to everyone you meet.

James Derry

Author of a Space Western and a Novel About Possession

Hachette UK

Eyes Ajar

America On Coffee

We’re just inviting you to take a timeout into the rhythmic ambiance of our breakfast, brunch and/or coffee selections. We are happy whenever you stop by.

The Scribblers

Tales from our writers' journeys to publication